The Courage to Ask

Bharat Bondu
2 min readMar 15, 2023
Photo by Thomas Dils on Unsplash

Walking on a cliff, so high,
I wonder, should I try?
To ask her out, my heart’s desire,
But fear and doubt, my mind conspire.

What if she turns me down, I thought,
If I miss this chance, my heart will rot.
Is now the time, or should I wait?
My thoughts had me in constant debate.

The only way to feel alive,
Is to express me and take a dive.
I gathered my courage and took a leap,
Like a bird flying high from a steep.

“Would you like to date me?” I asked,
With a racing heart that would fall apart.
Every millisecond felt like a day,
Anticipation of her answer in every way.

“No,” she said, and I felt bitter,
The pain of rejection was like a dagger.
Uncomfortable silence engulfed us,
We walked ahead, our minds in a fuss.

Looking into her eyes
was too much to bear.
A day passed by in silence,
we didn’t dare.

But slowly, I felt a sweet pain,
for I expressed my heart,
and for revealing my desire,
Now she knew my little secret.

Though rejection was a pain,
I had something to gain.
I faced my fear and took flight,
Like a bird off a cliff, fearless and bright.

--

--

Bharat Bondu

Lead UX Designer at HousingAnywhere. I write about design, travel, love and human emotions. http://bharatbondu.com/